Groups

1. Introduction
What's a group? | Group members | Group admins | Conversation
2. Membership
Joining a group | Leaving a group
3. Creating groups
Privacy | Enrollment | Rules
4. Putting it all together
Privacy + Enrollment + Rules = Flexibility | Examples
5. Making changes
Removing members | Deleting conversations | Deleting groups

 

1. Introduction

What's a group?
A group is a place on MOCpages that brings together people, LEGO creations, and conversation.

Group members
The people that join a group are called group members. Group members can:
Group admins
Each group has one or more group admins. Group admins are in charge of running the group. They can invite and remove members, and are in charge of moderating the LEGO creations and conversations that are added to the group.

Conversation
Each group has a conversation area. Conversation is broken into topics, or threads, of conversation. Any group member can write comments in a topic, and can create their own topics. Topics can be locked by a group admin, or left open.


 

2. Membership

Joining a group
You can join any group that has either open enrollment or approval enrollment. These groups will have a "Join" link at the top of every group page. If the group is "open enrollment", you will immediately become a member can can begin commenting and adding LEGO creations to the group. If the group is "approval" enrollment, you will have to wait until a group admin approves your request to join.

Leaving a group
You can leave a group (remove yourself from a group) by clicking on the leave this group link at the top of any group page. Group admins cannot leave the group unless there is at least one other group admin.


 

3. Creating groups
Anyone can create up to 10 groups each month. When creating a group, you will need to decide how your group will be used and accessed.

Privacy
You can make your group public or private.
  1. Public groups can be seen by anyone in the world, including people that do not have MOCpages accounts. These types of groups are great for public announcements of your LEGO creations, contests, or all kinds of general-topic groups.
  2. Private groups can only be seen by the group admin and the group members. These kinds of groups are great for working on projects together with your friends, secret clubs, for planning surprises, or even just if you don't want other people reading your conversations.

Enrollment
When you set the group's enrollment, you decide who can join your group, and how. There are four different types of enrollment.
  1. Open enrollment. With this setting, anyone with a MOCpages account can join your group. Admins and group members can also invite MOCpages members to join.
  2. Anyone, with approval. With this setting, anyone with a MOCpages account can request to join the group, but a group admin must first approve them before they will gain access to the group.
  3. Friends of friends. With this setting, the only way someone can join the group is if they are invited by a group admin or by an existing member. Once that person joins the group, they can invite their friends, and so on.
  4. By invitation only. With this setting, the only way someone can join the group is if they are invited by a group admin.

Rules
When you create a group, you can set up rules that control how many LEGO creations people can add to the group, and how often. You can also decide when LEGO creations can be added by choosing start and end dates. You could, for example, allow anyone to add an unlimited number of creations. Or you could only allow people to add one creation each day, until next week. It all depends on what your group is for.


 

4. Putting it all together
Rules + enrollment + privacy = Flexibiltiy!
You can use the group settings to create many different kinds of groups with lots of different uses.

Examples


 

5. Making changes


Removing other members
Group admins can remove people from a group by going to the members page and clicking on the remove link next to someone's name. When the person is removed, all of their LEGO creations are also removed from the group. Their comments and convesations are not removed automatically, so if you would also like to remove the comments, you will have to remove them one by one.

Deleting conversations
Group admins can delete comments one by one. Once all the comments in a topic have been deleted, the topic will disappear from the "conversations" page. It is generally more effective to lock a topic instead of deleting it.

Deleting groups
Groups cannot be deleted if there are any members in the group. If a group admin is the only member of a group, he or she will see a "delete" link next to the group title on all the group's pages.





Close this window